15.7.20 Gorsedh Kernow Adult Awards 2020 announced 

The Grand Bard, Elizabeth Carne, and the Gorsedh Kernow Awards panel are pleased to announce this year’s winners of the prestigious Awen medal, together with a number of named awards for outstanding achievement. Award winners are honoured for promoting the Celtic spirit of Cornwall through creative or community work.

The Grand Bard, Elizabeth Carne said ‘We are delighted that this year has seen a record number of nominations and submissions, representing the dynamism and diversity of Cornish creativity, culture and community work. Honouring those who have made outstanding contributions is a proud part of Gorsedh Kernow’s commitment to our community.’

Creativity award winners range from Mark Jenkin, whose critically acclaimed film, ‘Bait’, has already won a BAFTA, and has now earned the Grand Bard’s special award for 2020, to community arts projects like St Day’s ‘Daylight Group’ that have lit up Cornwall’s cultural scene. All our Creativity award winners, both established and emerging, are a credit to Cornwall and its vibrant culture.

Community award winners have all been nominated in recognition of outstanding work in sustaining the Celtic spirit of Cornwall in their communities, from protecting and promoting local heritage to encouraging greater use of the Cornish language. Often unsung local heroes, these award winners, from across Cornwall, are now honoured by Gorsedh Kernow.

A number of special awards are to be presented in honour of individuals (as detailed below) for specific achievements and contributions. These include the Mab Hirnans Award, in memory of Stephen Gainey, for outstanding contribution to the Cornish language, which this year goes to Maureen Pierce of Callington. These awards also include the London Cornish Association Shield and Paul Smales Award in recognition of work beyond Cornwall, presented this year to Aubrey Lane of Bournemouth and Liz Coole, in Moonta, South Australia.

Gorsedh Kernow also celebrates new work in specific categories, including verse and prose in the Cornish language and in Cornish dialect, Cornish studies, and in photography.

All award winners will be presented with a prestigious Awen medal, made in Cornwall by St Justin jewelry (please see photograph). This unique medal depicts the Gorsedh Kernow ‘Awen’ (Inspiration) symbol, a three-rayed Celtic design signifying Furneth (Wisdom), Gwir (Truth) and Kerensa (Love).

In usual circumstances the awards would be presented at a special awards evening at the Gorsedh Kernow Esedhvos festival of culture, that takes place each September. Current social distancing restrictions prevent this from happening at present, but Gorsedh Kernow will celebrate the awards online on the Gorsedh Kernow website : www.gorsedhkernow.org.uk/awards.html.

List of all award winners:

Grand Bard’s Award

for outstanding achievement:

Mark Jenkin for the film ‘Bait’.

Mab Hirnans/ Stephen Gainey Award

for outstanding and distinguished services to the Cornish Language:

Maureen Pierce

Glenda Hartland Award

these awards, in memory of Glenda Hartland, seek to promote active community involvement in Cornish cultural tradition:

Clare Summerson for The Daylight Group.

Emma Mansfield for Diaspora Carols.

Mike Hartland Award:

this award recognises the importance of traditional music, singing and dance and sport in maintaining Cornwall’s distinctive Celtic identity:

Matt Blewett for outstanding musical community outreach.

Lowender Peran Award

for distinguished performers or performance that provide a connection between Cornish culture and that of the other Celtic Nations:

Jenefer Lowe for outstanding contribution to cross- Celtic cultural collaboration.

London Cornish Shield

for outstanding services to Cornwall and Cornish People:

Aubrey Lane

Pewas Map Trevethan/Paul Smales Award

for outstanding contribution to Cornwall by someone not resident in Cornwall:

Liz Coole

Awenekter/ Creativity.

Vicki Aimers for ‘We gathered what we could’ artist books.

Abigail Brown for Boscawen-Un, artwork in silver.

Sherezade Garcia Rangel for ‘On the Hill’ podcast series.

Mark Harandon for multi-disciplinary creative projects.

Joe Inman for ‘14 Stories & 39 Lies’, a short film.

Aaron Kent & William Arnold for ‘The Last Hundred’ collaboration in images and words.

Adrian Rodda & An Gof for ‘An Gof’ performance and cd.

Guy Watson for Cousin Jack’s production of ‘The Mousehole Cat’.

Kemeneth/ Community.

Kensa Broadhust for blogs in and on the Cornish language.

 Hilary Coleman & Sally Burley for Redruth Carol Choir.

David Hunter & Jackie Moule for Cornwall Youth Theatre Company.

Jenna & Morwenna Matthews for promoting Cornish culture through Twin Harmony.

Audrey Metcalfe for long-standing contribution to promoting the Cornish language.

Rebecca Gregson for Trelawny Shout.

Diana & Colin Saxton for promotion of Cornish heritage.

Trevor Smitheram for contribution to community and heritage in Hayle.

Craig Weatherhill for outstanding contribution to Penwith and broader Cornish culture.

 Category Awards

Yeth Plen/ Cornish-language prose.

 Kensa Broadhurst

 Symon Harner

Hwedhel Berr/ Short Story.

Matt Underwood.

 Rannyeth/Dialect Verse.

Patricia King

Trevor Smitheram

Rannyeth/Dialect Prose.

Patricia King

Trevor Smitheram

Studhyansow Kernewek/ Cornish Studies.

Andrew Burt for ‘A History, Directory and Gazeteer of the Parish Church of St Just-in-Penwith, Cornwall’.

Denzil Monk for ‘Cornish Public Service Media’


James Kitto