Please note: This page is part of the archived Gorsedh Kernow website (up to March 2015). Some information may not be correct. Please visit our current website at for up-to-date news.


Gorsedh Kernow

Competition Results, 2014

green line

Cornish Classes 2014 Winners

Class 1: Gwersyow yn Kernewek - Cornish Crystal

1st: Gari Retalek (London)
Highly Commended: Philip Chadwick (London)

Class 2: Yeth Plen yn Kernewek - Mordon Caradar Rosebowl

1st: Roger Courtenay (London)
Highly Commended: Mark Trevethen (London)

Class 4a: Henry Jenner Cup (Cornish Essay in Cornish)

1st: Roger Henley (Sherborne, Dorset)

Class 4b: Sybil Pomeroy Cup (Cornish Essay in English)

1st: Geoffrey Truscott (Torpoint)
2nd: Tony Buscombe (Bodmin)
3rd: Mary Quick (Carbis Bay)
Highly Commended: Sylvia McKenzie (Saltash), Margery Payne (Torpoint)

Class 5: Rosmergy Cup (Cornish Dialect Prose)

1st: Mary Quick (Carbis Bay)
2nd: Patricia King (Illogan)
3rd: Paul Philips (Helston)

Class 6: Kewny Cup (Cornish Dialect Verse)

1st: Jill Thomas (St Neot)
2nd: Mary Quick (Carbis Bay)
3rd: Patricia King (Illogan)

Class 7: Ruth Moss Trophy (Short Story Set In Cornwall)

1st: Veronica Bright (Torpoint)
2nd: Lizzie Congdon (Falmouth)
3rd: Nikki Welch (Torpoint)

Class 8: Morris Cup (English Verse On A Cornish Subject)

1st: Esmé Francis (St Just in Penwith)
2nd: Adrian Rodda (Camborne)
3rd: Alan M Kent (Probus)
Highly Commended:Michael Dundrow (Gunnislake), Elizabeth Morris (Kettering, Northants)

Class 9: Jack Evans Cup (English Verse By A Cornish Poet)

1st: Des Hannigan (Morvah)
2nd: Adrian Rodda (Camborne)
3rd: Stella Breakwell (Saltash) and Roland Gurney (New Mill, Penzance)

Class 10: Bert Thomas Cup (Song in English about Cornwall)

1st: Bob Watson (Reading)
2nd: Esmé Francis (St Just in Penwith)

Class 11: Pat Power Memorial Trophy (Calligraphy)

1st: Ewa Kellie-Smith (Exeter)
2nd: Clare Timmins (Plogonnec, Brittany)
3rd: Margaret Pedler (Truro)
Highly Commended: Megan Timmins (Plogonnec, Brittany)

Class 12: Den Delynyans Plaque (Photography)

1st: Phili Mills (Dover)
2nd: Angela Chappell (Goonhavern)
3rd: Wendy Hartman (Phillack)
Commended: Phili Mills (Dover), Hilary Spurrier (Blisworth, Northants)

Class 13: Rosenwyn Evrok Trophy (Photography)

1st: Phili Mills (Dover)
2nd: Hilary Spurrier (Blisworth, Northants)
3rd: Phili Mills (Dover)
Commended:Tony Buscombe (Bodmin), Angela Chappell (Goonhavern), Lizzie Congdon (Falmouth)

Class 14a: Delywyor Hayl Salver (Painting in Watercolour)

1st: William A Morris (London)
2nd: Jill Thomas (St Neot)
3rd: L E Pierce (Callington)

Class 14b: Carer Lywans Cup (Painting in Any Other Medium than Watercolour)

1st: L E Pierce (Callington)
2nd: William A Morris (London)
3rd: Jill Thomas (St Neot)
Highly Commended : Robert Padfield (Penzance)


Gorsedh Kernow Under 18 Results 2014

Class 15: Treneer Shield (English Verse on a Cornish Subject: 12 to 17 years)

1st: Jessica Georgelin (Richard Lander School)

Class 16: Crida Cup (English Verse on a Cornish Subject: 10 and 11 years)

1st: Zachary G Bryce (Millbrook CE Primary School)
Commended: Olivia Calladine, Rohan Oldham (both Millbrook CE Primary School)

Class 17: Den Arwennek Trophy (English Verse on a Cornish Subject: 9 years and under)

1st: Oskar Allerbrand (Calstock CP School)
Commended:  Florence Utton (Calstock CP School)

Class 19: Map Melyn Shield (Detailed Study of a Cornish Subject - IT: 13 years and under)

1st: Heather Clarke (Calstock CP School)
2nd: Joe Randle (Calstock CP School)
3rd: Finn Dingle (Calstock CP School)
Highly Commended: Oskar Allerbrand, Oscar Tierney (both Calstock CP School)
Commended:  Evie Billing, Sophia Bos (both Calstock CP School)

Class 22: Cyril Knight Cup (Detailed Study of a Cornish Subject – Non-IT: 11 years and under)

1st: Greta Spake-Urwin (Calstock CP School)
2nd: Flora Bennetts De Souza (Millbrook CE Primary School)
3rd: Taya Triggs (Millbrook CE Primary School)
Highly Commended: Karis Bloor, Reece Darren Bloor (both Millbrook CE Primary School)
Commended: Gabriel Bennetts De Souza, Jamie Blank, Molly West (all Millbrook CE Primary School), Lilly O’Byrne, Ruby Roberts (both Calstock CP School)

Class 23: Cardiff Cornish Association Cup (Short Story Set in Cornwall: 12 to 17 years)

1st: Lucy Timbrell (Richard Lander School)
Highly Commended: Freya Grainger (Richard Lander School)
Commended: Rohan Canavan (Oakwood Court College, Torpoint), Sam Carder (Richard Lander School)

Class 24a: Scholar Shield (Short Story Set in Cornwall: 8 to 11 years)

1st: Maisy Laur (Calstock CP School)
Highly Commended: Nathan Coates (Crowan Primary School)
Commended: Joseph Randle, Aine Tierney, Oscar Tierney, Florence Utton (all Calstock CP School), Marcus Roberts (Crowan Primary School)

Class 25: An Den Shield (Photography: all ages)

1st: Harry Howard (Cape Cornwall School)
2nd: Nikki Baker (Cape Cornwall School)
3rd: Robert Miles-Thomas (Cape Cornwall School)
Highly Commended: Mollie Knight, Olivia Woolcock (both Cape Cornwall School)
Commended: Shannon Bridgeman (Mounts Bay School), Ryver Green, Abe King, Logan Morse (all Cape Cornwall School), Maisy Laur, Charlie Southcott, Oscar Tierney (all Calstock CP School)

Class 27: Howldrehevel Shield (Painting in Any Medium: 11 years and under)

1st: Rebekah Bradley (Calstock CP School)
2nd: Fern Mitchell (Carbeile Junior School)
3rd: Zelah May Crooks (Cusgarne CP School)
Highly Commended: Rosie Downing (Carbeile Junior School), Jack Flannagan (Millbrook CE Primary School), Joseph Randle (Calstock CP School)
Commended: Jake Beck, Ebony Gallacher, Fern Mitchell, Lily Townsend, Jessica Welch (all Carbeile Junior School), Flora Bennetts De Souza, Joao Bennetts De Souza, Poppy Northcott (all Millbrook CE Primary School)


green line

Return to 'Welcome - News' page
Dewhel dhe folen 'Dynargh - Newodhow'

green line

All content © The Gorsedh of Cornwall unless otherwise attributed.