Please note: This page is part of the archived Gorsedh Kernow website (up to March 2015). Some information may not be correct. Please visit our current website at for up-to-date news.


Gorsedh Kernow

Competition Results, 2013

green line

Cornish Classes 2013 Winners

Class 1: Poetry in Cornish

1st: Philip Chadwick (London)

Class 2: Prose in Cornish

1st: Mark Trevethen (London)

Class 4a: Henry Jenner Cup (Cornish Essay in Cornish)

1st: Roger Henley (Sherborne, Dorset)

Class 4b: Sybil Pomeroy Cup (Cornish Essay in English)

1st: Tony Buscombe (Bodmin)
2nd: John C Carbis (London)
3rd: Charles A Lovell (Gorran Haven)
Highly Commended: John C Jenkin (Bodmin), Alan M Kent (Probus)
Commended: Janette Eathorne (Carnmenellis), Elizabeth Morris (Kettering, Northants), Jill Thomas (St Neot)

Class 5: Rosmergy Cup (Cornish Dialect Prose)

1st: Phil Davey (Carnon Downs)
2nd: Patricia King (Illogan)
3rd: Mary Quick (Carbis Bay)

Class 6: Kewny Cup (Cornish Dialect Verse)

1st: Phil Davey (Carnon Downs)
2nd: Patricia King (Illogan)
3rd: Jill Thomas (St Neot)

Class 7: Ruth Moss Trophy (Short Story Set In Cornwall)

1st: Phil Davey (Carnon Downs)
2nd: Phil Davey (Carnon Downs)
3rd: Esmé Francis (St Just in Penwith)

Class 8: Morris Cup (English Verse On A Cornish Subject)

1st: Phil Davey (Carnon Downs)
2nd: Alan M Kent (Probus)
3rd: Roland Gurney (New Mill, Penzance)

Class 9: Jack Evans Cup (English Verse By A Cornish Poet)

1st: Roland Gurney (New Mill, Penzance)
2nd: Des Hannigan (Morvah)
3rd: Phil Davey (Carnon Downs)
Commended: Adrian Rodda (Camborne)

Class 10: Bert Thomas Cup (Song in English about Cornwall)

1st: Toby Wardman (York) and Maureen Jackett (Flushing)
2nd: Esmé Francis (St Just in Penwith)
3rd: Bob Watson (Reading)
Highly Commended: Phil Davey (Carnon Downs)

Class 11: Pat Power Memorial Trophy (Calligraphy)

1st: Margaret Pedler (Truro)
2nd: Margaret Pedler (Truro)
3rd: Clare Timmins (Plogonnec, Brittany)

Class 12: Den Delynyans Plaque (Photography)

1st: Phily Mills (Dover)
2nd: William A Morris (London)
3rd: Trevor Perkins (Kettering, Northants)
Highly Commended: Tony Buscombe (Bodmin), Phily Mills (Dover)

Class 13: Rosenwyn Evrok Trophy (Photography)

1st: Phily Mills (Dover)
2nd: Tony Buscombe (Bodmin)
3rd: Hayley Buscombe (Exeter)
Highly Commended: Phily Mills (Dover)

Class 14a: Delywyor Hayl Salver (Painting in Watercolour)

1st: Jill Thomas (St Neot)
2nd: William A Morris (London)

Class 14b: Carer Lywans Cup (Painting in Any Other Medium than Watercolour)

1st: William A Morris (London)
2nd: Jill Thomas (St Neot)
3rd: Robert Padfield (Penzance)


Gorsedh Kernow Under 18 Results 2013

Class 15: Treneer Shield (English Verse on a Cornish Subject: 12 to 17 years)

1st: Keely Thomas (Richard Lander School)
Commended: Alisha Coombe (Richard Lander School)

Class 16: Crida Cup (English Verse on a Cornish Subject: 10 and 11 years)

1st: Isabella Puddiphatt (Calstock CP School)
Commended:Rhys Stapleton (Calstock CP School)

Class 17: Den Arwennek Trophy (English Verse on a Cornish Subject: 9 years and under)

1st: Claye Stapleton (Calstock CP School)

Class 22: Cyril Knight Cup (Detailed Study of a Cornish Subject: 11 years and under)

1st: Kaya Bos (Calstock CP School)
2nd: Emma May Maunder (Calstock CP School)
3rd: Finn Dingle (Calstock CP School)
Highly Commended: Isabella Pudiphatt, Jacob Thomas-Hegarty (both Calstock CP School)

Class 23: Cardiff Cornish Association Cup (Short Story Set in Cornwall: 12 to 17 years)

1st: Zak Minett (Richard Lander School)
Highly Commended: Nathan Lawrence (Richard Lander School)
Commended: Katie Bray, Charlie Fuller, Miguel Richmond (all Richard Lander School), Kaja Denly (Cape Cornwall School)

Class 24a: Scholar Shield (Short Story Set in Cornwall: 8 to 11 years)

1st: Jacob Thomas-Hegarty (Calstock CP School)
Highly Commended: Isabella Pudiphatt (Calstock CP School)
Commended: Arianna Caddy (Heamoor CP School), Molly Clemens, Jacob Roach (both Crowan Primary School), Jenna Wilton (Calstock CP School)

Class 25: An Den Shield (Photography: all ages)

1st: Shannon Bridgeman (Mounts Bay School)
2nd: Bronwen Ann Benham (Crowan Primary School)
3rd: Lucy Jilbert (Heamoor CP School)
Highly Commended: Eddie Callan, Alice Pollard (both Calstock CP School), Ewan Ford (Heamoor CP School)
Commended: Rhys Kenton Brown (Heamoor CP School), William Matthew Brown, Isabella Puddiphatt, Rhys Stapleton, Charlie Southcott, Aine Tierney (all Calstock CP School)

Class 27: Howldrehevel Shield (Painting in Any Medium: 11 years and under)

1st: Chelsi Simmonds (Heamoor CP School)
2nd: Cherry Keane (Brunel Primary & Nursery Academy)
3rd: Abigail Pellow-White (Heamoor CP School)
Highly Commended: Poppy Tucker (Cusgarne CP School)
Commended: Tabitha Beaumont, Max Midwinter (both Brunel Primary & Nursery Academy), Thea Talling, Greta Spake Unwin (both Calstock CP School)


green line

Return to 'Welcome - News' page
Dewhel dhe folen 'Dynargh - Newodhow'

green line

All content © The Gorsedh of Cornwall unless otherwise attributed.