HOME PAGE - About the Awards

Authors and Publishers of nominated books with Grand Bard Elizabeth Carne (Melennek) at the Awards evening on July 10th. 2019

> The Holyer Year

> Contact us

The annual Gorsedh Kernow Holyer an Gof Awards were instigated in 1996 for books published in 1995 and are so named in memory of Redruth publisher and Cornish Bard Leonard Truran, whose Bardic name was Holyer an Gof - Follower of The Smith.   The scheme was established and is organised by Bards of Gorsedh Kernow to promote books about Cornwall, set in Cornwall or in Cornish (Kernewek).  

Each year about 80 books are submitted by publishers from Cornwall and beyond and these are read and evaluated by members of a panel of Readers. The winning entries are announced at a presentation evening held in Truro in July. 

There are 12 categories, each nominated book receiving a Gorsedh Kernow Certificate. There is a winning book in each class/sub-class, which receives a Gorsedh Kernow Winner's Certificate.

In addition the following awards are made at the presentation evening at the Royal Cornwall Museum:

  1. The Holyer an Gof Cup, gifted by the late Joan Truran, in memory of her husband, is perpetual and awarded for the most outstanding entry in Classes 1 - 4.

  2. The Federation of Old Cornwall Societies Holyer an Gof Cup which is awarded for the most outstanding entry in classes 5 & 6.

  3. The Kowethas an Yeth Kernewek Cup which is awarded for the best original fiction work or translation into Cornish (Kernewek).

  4. The Gorsedh Kernow Ann Trevenen Jenkin Cup which is awarded for authorship in the class for children and young adults.

2019-20 - for books published in 2019

Please note: the beginning of the submission period for books published in 2019 is November 1st. 2019. The deadline is February 29th. 2020.

Advice for submitting publishers

Submission form

Advice for Readers

Review form

Holyer an Gof in previous years

Please note these are archived pages. Please return to this page if you want to navigate elsewhere.

>2019 Entries
>2018 Entries
> 2017 Entries
> 2016 Entries
> 2015 Entries
> 2014 Entries
> 2013 Entries
> 2012 Entries

>2019 Award winners
> 2018 Award winners
> 2017 Award Winners
> 2016 Award Winners
> 2015 Award Winners
> 2014 Award Winners
> 2013 Award Winners
> 2012 Award Winners

>Presentation Evening Photographs 2019

> Presentation Evening Photographs 2018

> Presentation Evening Photographs 2017

> Presentation Evening Photographs 2016



Facebook link

Search this site